Tough Day

Osoyoos to Grand Forks

126km, 1681m of climbing

Today was a t-o-u-g-h tough day…and I wasn’t expecting it! After a 100m warm-up, we hit the base of the climb up the Anarchist. I LOVED the start to our day – just grinding slowly up the hill, taking in the views, enjoying the switch-backs and just loving it! I live for these climbs! Our first stop of the day was at 16km – seriously – and it took me 1:10 to get there!

From there, Jens 1 (Andrea) and I hit the summit of Anarchist, which was about another 15km away, enjoying some chatting while we rode. From there I essentially solo’d to lunch and knew it was going to be a tough day. However, I had a great lunch and figured I’d break the ride into pieces – 15km to Greenwood for coffee, then another 15ish to the summit of Eholt, then 25ish into Grand Forks – surely I can do that!

…and I couldn’t. Within 10mins of leaving lunch I had to drop back from the group and take off some layers – I was overheating and thought I was going to throw up. However, I made it to the coffee stop and felt a bit better. But then it was a mental battle, into a headwind for the next countdown! Thankfully, Krista saved the day!! She caught up to me after the coffee stop and we had a great chat the whole way up Eholt to the final rest stop. I learned about her connection to CF – one of her best friends, Kim, and the ups and downs she faces. Krista’s perspective on the disease is incredible, and I know she is a wonderful support for Kim. Just like most of us, Krista saw her friend struggling and wanted to help in some way. She understands that while we just see it as riding our bikes, those with CF see it as more. She recognizes that our struggles are nothing in comparison to the struggles of a CF’er, and she’ll do anything to support Kim in any way. Krista, thank you so much for helping make my day easier, and thank you for everything that you do for CF – I am certain that Kim appreciates it and I’m looking forward to meeting her in Banff!

Shorter day tomorrow, but a MASSIVE climb up to Paulson (the descent in 2011 was the best of the entire trip – see blog titled ‘If Heaven’…or something like that!) – I’m worried and SUPER pumped!!

Bed time!

Cheers
Em

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Tough Day

  1. Cathy Allan says:

    So proud of all of you. I’m really enjoying Dan’s daily videos, getting a glimpse of your ride.
    Wish I could be with you.
    Keep Sarah on your shoulder 🙂 . She’d love the wind in her face.
    xo Mum

Leave a comment