An ordinary day

Princeton to Osoyoos
115km, 732m of climbing

VLUU L210  / Samsung L210

The crew in their new 2013 kits – Joan, Dawn, Andrea (Jens 1), me, Dan

IMG_3653

First stop of the day – BADGER PRIDE šŸ˜€

Today was an interesting day. After having a late start because our breakfast didn’t arrive, we had a nice long descent into Keremeos for lunch (not to worry, we were fed at breakkie!). The rain had hit just before lunch, but the warm-ish drizzle was welcomed (by me). After lunch, as we started the rollers before Richter Pass, the rain increased and Richard, Blair, Dan and I just ate water flying off the wheel ahead of us. Eventually the group split and I found myself riding alone, up and over Richter Pass, and into Osoyoos by myself.

VLUU L210  / Samsung L210

Richard and Clarke before the climb up Richter Pass

VLUU L210  / Samsung L210

I (yes, ME!) actually stopped on a DESCENT to take this picture! Wild!
Riding into Osoyoos

Ā As I rode, I wondered what I would write about today. In all honesty, the ride just felt…meh! It was just a standard ride, nothing crazy to report. What I didn’t realize was that after the ride, hanging out before, during and after dinner would be the highlight of the day for me.

I got to have nice chats with some of the riders and volunteers that I don’t know, learning more about them. We were hosted by the Kinsmen and Kinette’s of Penticton and Sutherland (Summerland??), and they served us a delicious bbq. A local grandmother who’s granddaughter has CF came to speak and thank us for our dedication and involvement, and these were the highlights of my day. Nothing out of the ordinary, but good, quality time with people that make a difference in the CF community.

I’m looking forward to learning more about my fellow riders over the next 6 days!

We climb straight up out of Osoyoos tomorrow and end in Grand Forks…hopefully I’ll still have the legs to do the ritual DQ run (literally) to DQ with Jens 1!! šŸ™‚ Mmm, smores blizzard, here I come!

Cheers
Em šŸ™‚

p.s. Dan’s Day 3 video blog:Ā http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qPBHxHB3B6I

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment